International Masterclasses 2024

with the Pierre Auger Observatory


In order to proceed with the registration of your institution, please send an email to with the preferred date, institution, contact email and the expected number of participants.

We are still accepting registrations to fill the available vacancies.


The masterclasses with the Pierre Auger Observatory in the IMC2024 will be held on the days below. Please choose the most suitable date according to your location and the timezone for the video conferences:

The registration is open for a maximum of 5 institutes per session, and the order of registry is made in a first-come-first-served basis.

Participating Institutions

Date / Time Zone Institution Location Moderators
March 01, 2024
Kenyatta University Nairobi, Kenya

David Schmidt (KIT, Germany)

Karen Caballero-Mora (UNACH, Mexico)

Nicolas Leal (ITeDA, Argentina)
INFN - Sezione di Napoli | University Federico II Naples, Italy
University of L’Aquila | GSSI | Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso L’Aquila, Italy
March 08, 2024
Czech Technical University and Institute of Physics | Czech Academy of Science Prague, Czechia

Beatriz García (ITeDA, Argentina)

Nicolas Leal (ITeDA, Argentina)

Roberto Mussa (INFN, Italy)
University Of Minho Braga, Portugal
March 12, 2024
Accel Kitchen | Waseda Research Institute for Science and Engineering Tokyo, Japan

Gina Isar (ISS, Romania)

Raul Sarmento (LIP, Portugal)

Carlo Cruz-Sanchez (CONICET/ UNLP, Argentina)
Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences Beijing, China
Universidad Autónoma de Ciudad Juárez Ciudad Juárez, Mexico
March 16, 2024
Instituto Superior Técnico Lisboa, Potugal

Karen Caballero-Mora (UNACH, Mexico)

Beatriz García (ITeDA, Argentina)

Nicolas Leal (ITeDA, Argentina)
Universidade da Madeira Funchal, Portugal
Institute of Space Science Bucharest, Romania
Universidade de Coimbra Coimbra, Portugal
Universidade de Évora Évora, Portugal
March 19, 2024
University of Debrecen Debrecen, Hungary

Raul Sarmento (LIP, Portugal)

Beatriz García (ITeDA, Argentina)

Gina Isar (ISS, Romania)
El Houria High School Constantine, Algeria
Università del Salento | INFN Lecce Lecce, Italy
Università degli Studi di Milano | INFN Milano Milan, Italy


Beatriz García


Carlo Cruz-Sanchez


David Schmidt


Gina Isar


Karen Caballero-Mora


Nicolas Leal


Roberto Mussa


Raul Sarmento


Activity Planning

November/December Registration by the participating institutions
January Invitations to schools and students
February Preparatory meetings for organization
March Masterclass events

The Masterclass suggested timetable:
(Check the participating Institutions table to check your timezone)

10:00 – 10:15 Registration and welcome
10:15 – 10:30 Introduction
10:30 – 11:45 Particle and astroparticle physics
11:45 – 12:15 Coffee break
12:15 – 13:00 Experiments in astroparticle physics
13:00 – 14:00 Lunch
14:00 – 16:00 Data analysis
16:00 – 17:00 Video conference with the Pierre Auger Observatory*
17:00 – 17:15 Farewell

*) The video conference will be obligatorily at this time.

All the documentation and materials needed for the realization of the activity are available in the Downloads Tab of this webpage.

International Physics Masterclasses

More information for institutions about the organization of masterclasses may be found at the IMC webpage:

Previous Editions